Sardine and Tomato Pasta

I really need to take pictures of what I make. There’s very little point in being given a recipe but no picture. I mean, the picture is how I decide what to make, not to mention, it shows you what the final dish should have a slight resemblance to. I honestly just skip over recipes without pictures. Although, what’s worse is when the recipe has the WRONG picture. Especially with desserts. I get all excited, like “THIS is what my desert will look like!” but in the end, following the directions exactly, I still end up with this. So I guess the point of this little tangent is to apologize for not having a picture for about half of the recipes on this blog. I promise that I will try harder to use my non-existent photography skills to show you delicious food!

Back to the recipe now. This simple dish 1) tasted rather good, and 2) used up the cans of sardines sitting in the pantry. Although apparently sardines are known as “poor-man’s food,” they’re really easy to cook with, like tuna, and they don’t taste half bad either. I definitely feel like I’ll be looking for more sardine recipes in the near future.

When I made this recipe, I naïvely followed the directions telling me to add 1-2 tsp of hot pepper flakes. A rookie move, and embarrassingly the second time I’ve made it.

Dinner still tasted pretty good though, and I would totally make this recipe again. I’ve made a few modifications to the original recipe, including doubling all the ingredients and adding significantly more tomatoes. The picture found with the original recipe is still generally accurate.

One last note, my mom described this meal as “Sicilian.” I’m not sure if it’s an accurate statement, I haven’t been to Sicily yet, but I know that it tasted pretty good, and reasonably Italian. Let me know if you agree : )


Time to make: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

-1 lb penne
-2 cans sardines in oil
-5 thinly sliced garlic cloves
-1/4 cup olive oil
-8 small, diced, plum tomatoes
-1 + 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
-dash of red pepper flakes (optional)
-salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1) Cook pasta.
2) In a sauce pan on low heat, warm olive oil. Add garlic and cook until softened.
3) Add entire cans of sardines. Break into bite sized pieces.
4) Increase to medium heat and cook until sardines sizzle.
5) Add tomatoes and sauté for about 10 minutes.
6) Add parsley and red pepper flakes. Stir thoroughly.

Serve hot!

Leave a Reply

